Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campus notes for May 18

May 18, 2011
Marshall Independent

Ellefson awarded scholarship at SDSU

BROOKINGS, S.D. Kellie Ellefson of Marshall was awarded the Avera Health Scholarship in Support of the Jackrabbit Guarantee 2006 Challenge for the 2011-2012 academic year at South Dakota State University.

Ellefson is a senior majoring in health promotions/pre-pt at SDSU, where she is active in HEROH (Helping Everyone Reach Optimal Health) (president), intramurals, tutoring and Athlete's Inspired. She is the daughter of Ryan and Donna Ellefson of Marshall and is a 2008 graduate of the Marshall High School.

Van Moer, Wischer on dean's list at St. Scholastica

The College of St. Scholastica has named 616 students to its Fall Semester 2010 dean's list. Students named to the dean's list are full-time undergraduates who have attained a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Included on the list are Kristina Van Moer, sophomore, exercise physiology - intended, and Kayla Wischer, senior, social work, both of Marshall.

Area student inducted into national physics honor society

Augustana College recently inducted 12 students into the inaugural class of Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society, an organization developed to honor outstanding scholarship in physics, celebrate service and the encouragement of exploration and discovery and, provide fellowship.

The following area student was inducted: Trent Anderson of Lake Benton.

For induction into Sigma Pi Sigma, a student must meet the following requirements:

Have completed at least the equivalent of three semesters of full-time college work

Rank at or above the upper one third of their college class in overall scholarship

Have completed at least three semester courses in physics, each of which must be at least three credit hours or the equivalent, which may be credited toward a physics major.

The student's grade point average in these physics courses must exceed 3.0.

Twenty students selected as Sanford scholarship recipients

Twenty students have been selected as recipients of the Sanford Health Network Health Career Scholarship. This scholarship was developed to provide financial support to those who have decided to make health care their career.

Each scholarship is funded in part by Sanford Health Network and by the Sanford Health Network facility sponsoring each recipient.

"We are proud to support this exceptional group of scholarship recipients as they work toward a degree in the health care field," stated Ed Weiland, president, Sanford Health Network. "Health care needs continue to rise overall, and these students are an important piece of meeting those future staffing needs."

Each recipient will receive a $2,000 scholarship to help support their education in the health care career of their choice. This year, area students selected are: Cassandra Bormann, Sanford Canby Medical Center, Canby; Kyle Mamer, Sanford Canby Medical Center, Canby; Abby C. Van Meveren, Murray County Medical Center, Slayton; Brittany Hanson, Sanford Tracy Medical Center, Tracy; Alexis Quade, Sanford Westbrook Medical Center, Westbrook; Mai Pa Tao Vang, Sanford Westbrook Medical Center, Westbrook.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web