Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campus notes for May 25

May 25, 2011
Marshall Independent

Cooperative group awards scholarship to Marshall student

The Minnesota Cooperative Education Foundation, a nonprofit arm of Cooperative Network, announces that a student interested in pursuing a career in cooperatives has been awarded the 2011 Slettom Cooperative Leadership Scholarship. This year's scholarship is $750; this is the seventh year that the scholarship has been offered.

Brandi Sperr of Marshall, currently attending Southwest Minnesota State University, was chosen based on her scholastic achievement, leadership, and an ability to contribute to cooperatives in the future. Sperr is studying agricultural business.

The foundation's directors created the scholarship to work toward its vision of educating others about the role of cooperatives in their communities.

Patzer to attend the University of Minnesota, Morris

Mitch Patzer, of Marshall, has been accepted to and has chosen to attend the University of Minnesota, Morris, one of the most respected public liberal arts colleges in the nation.

Patzer, a 2011 graduate of Marshall High School will attend Morris beginning Fall 2011. Patzer is a recipient of the Dean's Scholarship. Students graduating in the top ten percent of their high school class receive $10,000 with this $2,500 renewable up to four years by maintaining a 2.5 GPA.

Lake Area Tech has graduation ceremony

The 44th annual Lake Area Technical Institute graduation ceremony took place May 13 with 558 graduates receiving their diplomas.

The following students were among the student presented their diplomas: Spencer Sheehan, Marshall, computer information systems; Shane Sweetland, Lynd, occupational therapy assistant; Sara DeSaer, Marshall, physical therapist assistant.

Penny Program announces spring 2011 recipients

The Minnesota State University Student Association and the Penny Program Board congratulates its 2011 Penny award recipients: Troy Osterloo is being awarded a $5,000 Timothy J. Penny Federal Public Service Fellowship for his summer internship in Washington D.C. coordinated by The Washington Center. Originally from Freeman, S.D., Osterloo attends Southwest Minnesota State University where he is pursuing degrees in political science and justice administration.

The Penny Program is named in honor of former Congressman and member of MSUSA, Tim Penny, and in memory of his wife, Barb Penny. The program awards Minnesota state college and university students who participate in public service internships and show a commitment to community service. Since 1987, The Penny Program has awarded more than $175,000 in scholarships.

Henkelman awarded scholarships at SDSU

Hannah Henkelman of Marshall was awarded the Ben and May Tjomsland Memorial Endowment Fund Scholarship and the Alice Johnson Reifel Scholarship for the 2011-2012 academic year at South Dakota State University.

Henkelman is a senior majoring in early childhood education at SDSU, the daughter of Mark and Melanie Henkelman and is a 2008 graduate of the Marshall High School.

Local student admitted to UMR

The University of Minnesota Rochester has admitted Ashley Kurth for the 2011-2012 academic year.

Klein graduates from Aquinas College

Nick Klein has graduated with cum laude honors May 7 from Aquinas College in Grand Rapids, Mich. Prior to graduation, he was inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honor society.

Klein has been accepted into the master's program for museum administration at Eastern Illinois University. He also has been selected as the winner of the 2011-2012 IRAD Fellowship. For his fellowship, he will work with IRAD, the Illinois Regional Archive Depository, which houses and cares for significant historic documents from the state of Illinois. He has previously interned at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum in Grand Rapids, Mich. He is the son of Stephen and Kay Klein of Marshall.

Noble graduates from Macalester College

Lee Noble, the son of James and Carol Noble of Marshall, graduated from Macalester May 14 at the college. Noble received a liberal arts degree in economics and mathematics. Noble is a graduate of Marshall High School.

In addition, Noble was honored at the Macalester College Awards Ceremony May 13.

Noble received the following honors/awards:

Economics Omicron Delta Epsilon-National honor society in Economics. Students are elected who have an overall grade point average of 3.0 or better. Members receive the American Economist for one year and a scroll and are eligible to wear the key of the fraternity.

Marshall native Lois Quam '83, executive director of the Global Health Initiative, was Macalester College's 2011 commencement speaker.

Recertification for Minnesota West Law Enforcement Program

Minnesota West Community & Technical College announces that the Minnesota Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training renewed the certification of the professional peace officer education program at Minnesota West for another five years.

In order to become a peace officer in the State of Minnesota, every officer must obtain a minimum two-year degree and complete a "Skills" (police academy) component. The Minnesota Peace Officer Standards and Training Board oversees peace officers' licenses and all colleges or universities who offer the required education components. Recently, Minnesota West Community and Technical College successfully completed a very extensive recertification process. The process included a site visit from a POST Board representative who reviewed all parts of the law enforcement program's curriculum.

Mount Marty College spring dean's list announced

Mount Marty College in Yankton, S.D., and Watertown, S.D., has released the names of the dean's list qualifiers for the spring 2011 semester. Students must achieve a 3.5 grade point average or higher to qualify. Included on the list is Bethany Bakker of Marshall.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web