Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campus notes for Aug. 31

August 30, 2011
Marshall Independent

Tate enrolled at CSB

Amanda Tate, the daughter of Mary and Jim Tate of Marshall, has enrolled at the College of St. Benedict for the 2011-12 academic year.

UND has summer commencement

More than 430 University of North Dakota students took part in the 2011 summer commencement ceremony Aug. 5, in the Chester Fritz Auditorium, on campus. Included on the list was Carmen Tubbs (MS) of Hendricks.

Larsen, Mortier on dean's list at Alex Tech

Gregg Raisanen, the dean of Academic Affairs, at Alexandria Technical and Community College, recognizes 450 students for academic excellence.

Andrew Larsen of Marshall was named to the dean's list for achieving a grade point average of 3.5 or higher spring semester 2011. He is enrolled in the law enforcement program at the college.

Danny Mortier of Marshall was named to the dean's list for achieving a grade point average of 3.5 or higher spring semester 2011. He is enrolled in the mechatronics program at the college.

Lee graduates from Metropolitan State

Alfred Lee of Marshall received his bachelor of science degree in business administration from Metropolitan State University during its 88th commencement ceremony May 3 in the Minneapolis Convention Center Auditorium.

Andries graduates from Globe University/Minnesota School of Business

Lacey Andries of Marshall recently graduated from Globe University/Minnesota School of Business. She received her associate in applied science degree in paralegal studies. She is the daughter of Tom and Lynn Andries of Marshall.

Antony enrolled at SJU

Aaron Antony, son of Mark and Karla Antony of Marshall, has enrolled at St. John's University for the 2011-2012 academic year.

Area students included on U of M dean's list

The following area students have made the dean's list for the University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus 2011 spring semester.

Students on the list all achieved a grade point average of 3.66 or higher while taking 12 or more credits.

Clarkfield: Katherine Schwachtgen, Rachel Schwachtgen. Dawson: Jacob Wager. Ghent, Todd Hennen. Granite Falls: Amber Olson. Lake Benton: Brock Trautman. Marshall: Matthew Boerboom, Anne Merna, Aaron Ogdahl, Kirby Schmidt. Minneota: Catherine Avey, Amanda Bot. Taunton: Laura Leibfried. Tyler: Samantha Kaffenbarger.

Buysse named to SJU dean's list

Dalton Buysse, the son of Chuck and Sharon Buysse of Marshall, has been named to the dean's list for the 2011 spring semester at St. John's University. Buysse is a sophomore biology major at SJU.

To be included on the dean's list, students must have a semester grade-point average of at least 3.80 and have completed 12 credits for which honor points (A, B, C, etc.) are awarded. Students included on the dean's list cannot have any "unsatisfactory" or "incomplete" grades for that semester.

Minnesota State University, Mankato has graduation

Minnesota State University, Mankato graduated 2,191 students during spring/summer commencement exercises May 7 at the Taylor Center on campus.

Balaton: Derek Daniels, BS, law enforcement. Belview: Timothy Filzen, BS, economics; Levi Zimmer, BS, mass communications. Canby: Cody Baer, BS, rec, parks and leisure services. Clarkfield: Michelle Field, BS, ethnic studies. Cottonwood: Kyle Jarcho, MS, environmental sciences; Erica Roe, BS, community health, summa cum laude; Kevin VanOverbeke, BS, finance. Dawson: Patrick Nelson, BS and BS, sport management and history, summa cum laude. Granite Falls: Amy Brovold, BS, nursing; Nathan Brovold, BS, nursing. Marshall: Amanda Beekman, BS, special education; Molly Carmody, BS, speech communication; Matthew Carver, BS, computer engineering technology; Deborah Cleveland, BS, nursing; Traci Pagel, BA, communication disorders, summa cum laude. Minneota: Hayley Hennen, BS, finance; Brooke Minnehan, BS, finance, cum laude. Slayton: Jennifer Baumgartner, SPEC, educational leadership; Kellie Louwagie, BS, nursing, summa cum laude; Brooke Manderscheid, BS, dental hygiene, summa cum laude; Casandra Meaden, BS, medical technology. Taunton: Brian Pohlen, MA, political science. Tracy: Va Xiong, BS, marketing. Walnut Grove: Brennan Enstad, BS, finance, cum laude; Philippe Goetstouwers, SPEC, educational leadership; Jordan Heinrich, BS and BS, philosophy and philosophy, politics and economics, summa cum laude.

Minnesota State University, Mankato announces dean's lists

The academic high honors and honors lists (dean's lists) for the past spring semester at Minnesota State University, Mankato have been announced by Anne Blackhurst, acting vice president for academic affairs and student affairs.

Among the more than 15,190 students, a total 730 students qualified for the high honors list by achieving a 4.0 straight "A" average, while 2,231 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the honors list.

To qualify for academic honors, undergraduate students must be enrolled for at least 12 credit hours for a grade.

Balaton: Jordan Christiansen, honors list. Canby: Amanda Deslauriers, honors list; Shane Heiden, honors list. Clarkfield: Michelle Field, honors list. Cottonwood: Nicole Einerson, honors list; Shane Kosen, honors list. Currie: Daniel Schreier, honors list. Ghent: Brittny Vollmer, high honors. Granite Falls: Tyler Jensvold, honors list; Sarah Sannerud, honors list. Ivanhoe: Chelsea Conrad, high honors; Bradly Pape, high honors; Marshall: Amanda Beekman, high honors; Jordana Beens, honors list; Darryl Coudron, high honors; Jenna Gibson, high honors; Jessica Kimpling, honors list; Traci Pagel, high honors; Sarah Schneekloth, honors list; Andrew Schreiner, honors list; Ashley Schultze, honors list; Skyler Stensrud, high honors; Aaron Strootman, honors list; Emily Tate, honors list; Michael Tutt, honors list; Lauren Wilgenbusch, honors list; Jacqueline Zerr, honors list. Minneota: Katherine Anundson, honors list; Hayley Hennen, honors list. Slayton: Stephanie Janke, honors list; Kristin Louwagie, honors list; Brooke Manderscheid, high honors; Matthew Van Meveren, honors list. Tracy: Emily Gilmore, honors list; Megan Gilmore, high honors; Nicole Snyder, honors list. Tyler: Marissa Borchert, high honors; Wabasso: Micah Gronli, honors list; Emily Zimmerli, honors list. Walnut Grove: Jordan Heinrich, honors list; Kristie Hoffman, honors list; Denise Tietz, high honors.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web