Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campus notes for March 28

March 28, 2012
Marshall Independent

Marshall student receives MSU Moorhead scholarship

Anna Schiavo has received a $4,000 University Scholarship from Minnesota State University Moorhead. Schiavo is the child of Larry and Dawn Schiavo, Marshall, and intends to major in psychology.

The University Scholarship awards $1,000 for the freshman year and is given to students admitted to MSUM with a composite ACT score of 24-25 and a high school rank in the top 50 percent, or a composite ACT score of 21-23 and a high school class rank in the top 10 percent. It's renewable for a maximum of four years with a 3.5 grade point average.

Winona State announces dean's list for fall 2011

Winona State University announces the dean's list for fall term 2011. To be named to the dean's list, a student must be an undergraduate enrolled full-time (at least 12 credit hours for a grade) and achieve a minimum grade point average of 3.5.

The following Marshall residents have been included on the dean's list: Jesse Buss, Danica Louwagie, Sandhya Manandhar, Taylor Miller, Christopher Pequin.

Roberts named to U of Kansas fall 2011 honor roll

More than 4,400 undergraduate students at the University of Kansas earned honor roll distinction for the fall 2011 semester, including Megan Roberts of Marshall.

Dakota State names 2011-2012 scholarship award recipients

Dakota State University released the names of students receiving scholarships for the 2011-2012 academic year. Nearly 500 DSU Foundation scholarships were received for the 2011-2012 school year.

Cody Welu received the Dakota State University 1st Year Champion Scholarship. Welu is a freshman computer and network security major at DSU from Milroy. The award is funded by the William and Evelyn Brinker Memorial Endowment through the Dakota State University Foundation.

Dustin Stage received the Dakota State University 3rd Year Champion Scholarship. Stage is a junior computer science and math information systems major at DSU from Ruthton. The award is funded by the Gertrude Gill Memorial/KSI Endowment through the Dakota State University Foundation.

Samantha Hay received the Dakota State University 4th Year Champion Scholarship. Hay is a senior finance and accounting major at DSU from Walnut Grove. The award is funded by the Van Erdewyk Family Endowment through the Dakota State University Foundation.

Katelyn Mulder received the Dakota State University Transfer Champion Scholarship. Mulder is a senior elementary education and special education major at DSU from Marshall. The award is funded by the Zeno and Carol Van Erdewyk Endowment through the Dakota State University Foundation.

The DSU Champion Scholarship is renewable which means the student can receive the scholarship in consecutive academic years if a certain criteria are maintained.

Area residents tour with the UM, Morris Concert Choir

The University of Minnesota, Morris announces that the following area residents will be touring the East Coast with the University of Minnesota, Morris Concert Choir: Olivia Bennett of Marshall and Luis Reyes of Hanley Falls.

Some of the 2012 East Coast tour stops are: Wilmington, Delaware; Ocean City, Maryland; Auburn, Maine; New Brunswick, Canada; and Quebec City, Canada.

Johnson participates in Northwestern Varsity Men's Chorus Tour

Northwestern College in St. Paul announces that Nathaniel Johnson, the son of the Rev. Wesley and Pam Johnson of Marshall, will participate in the Varsity Men's Chorus Tour, under the direction of Timothy Sawyer.

Tour dates and locations are as follows:

Sunday, April 22, 3 p.m. concert (also assisting in morning 8:30 and 10:30 a.m. services) at Zimmerman Evangelical Free Church, in Zimmerman.

Monday, April 30, 7:30 p.m. concert at Northwestern College (Maranatha Hall), in St. Paul.

Johnson is a senior pursuing a degree in ministry. Johnson is a 2009 graduate of Staples Motley High School.

Warne named to dean's list at Palmer Chiropractic

Eric Warne has been named to the dean's list at Palmer Chiropractic College in Davenport, Iowa, for the 2011-12 fall trimester. He is a 2007 graduate of Marshall High School and a 2011 graduate of Concordia College in Moorhead. Warne is the son of Nancy and Lee Warne, Marshall.

Pekar student teaching

Beth Pekar, a student at Northwestern College in Orange City, Iowa, is student teaching this semester.

In order to be accepted into the teacher education program, students must maintain a 2.5 cumulative grade point average, submit an entrance portfolio, successfully pass the Pre-Professional Skills Test and receive departmental recommendation.

Pekar is a senior and is majoring in mathematics at Northwestern College. She is student teaching middle school math at Le Mars (Iowa) Gehlen Catholic School and high school math at Unity Christian High School (Orange City, Iowa). Pekar is the daughter of Michael and Mary Pekar of Lamberton.

Besse enrolls in MSU, Mankato

Taylor Besse, a Marshall High School senior, is enrolled in Minnesota State University, Mankato for fall semester 2012. Besse's parents are Brad and Audrey Besse of Marshall. Her planned field of study is speech pathology.

Hedge granddaughter makes dean's list at Hillsdale

Erin Mundahl, a sophomore English literature and French literature double major at Hillsdale College in Hillsdale, Mich., was named to the dean's list for the 2011 fall semester. Mundahl is the granddaughter of Sam and Annette Hedge of Tracy.

Marshall students on Alexandria Tech dean's list

Danny Mortier, Neil Citrowske, and Andrew Larson, all of Marshall, were named to the dean's list at Alexandria Technical and Community College for achieving a grade point average of 3.5 or higher fall semester 2011.

Mortier is enrolled in the mechatronics program; Citrowske is enrolled in the welding technology program; and Larsen is enrolled in the law enforcement program.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web