Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campus notes for May 16

May 16, 2012
Marshall Independent

Area students graduate from MSUM

Minnesota State University Moorhead awarded degrees to 989 students. MSUM's spring commencement was May 11 in MSUM's Alex Nemzek Fieldhouse. About 700 students participated in the ceremonies.

These students graduated with the following degrees and honors: Luke Bothun, Dawson, bachelor of science, physical education, health education; honors: magna cum laude. Justin Doom, Cottonwood, bachelor of science, construction management. Evan Dyce, Ghent, bachelor of nursing, nursing; honors: summa cum laude. Kristy Gifford, Arco, bachelor of nursing, nursing. Courtney Knudson, Granite Falls, bachelor of nursing, nursing; honors: magna cum laude. Brittany Milbeck, Dawson, bachelor of science, early childhood education; honors: cum laude. Lindsay Mitlyng, Marshall, bachelor of arts, biology. Zachary Morseth, Hendricks, bachelor of arts, bachelor of science, chemistry, mathematics; honors: summa cum laude. David Myhre, Marshall, bachelor of science, construction management. Craig Peterson, Minneota, bachelor of science, exercise science. Amanda Schueller Dawson, bachelor of science, elementary education; honors: summa cum laude. Samantha Tauer, Marshall, bachelor of science, elementary education; honors: magna cum laude. Bryce Thomsen, Tyler, bachelor of science, computer information technology. Jason Wollum, bachelor of science, finance; honors: summa cum laude.

Winona State honors 65 graduates

Winona State University recognized 65 members of the spring 2012 graduating class at the 29th annual Student Recognition Awards ceremony May 3 in East Hall, Kryzsko Commons.

Faculty members in each department nominated the recipients as the outstanding students in their majors. Criteria for selection may include, but is not limited to, grade point average, involvement in student organizations, research, service to the community and athletics.

College of Science and Engineering: Jesse Buss, Marshall.

Pekar, Vlaminck graduate from Northwestern

Beth Pekar and Kayla Vlaminck were among 230 graduating seniors at Northwestern College's commencement ceremonies May 12.

Pekar majored in mathematics at Northwestern. She is the daughter of Michael and Mary Pekar of Lamberton.

Vlaminck majored in biology health professions at Northwestern. She is the daughter of Gary and Marie Vlaminck of Marshall.

Students awarded scholarships from BSU

Bemidji State University understands the rising cost of higher education and is committed to offering a variety of scholarship opportunities to as many students as possible. More than 30 percent of all new entering students receive scholarships.

Incoming students have accepted $1,000 Campus Honors Scholarships from Bemidji State University for the 2011-2012 academic year.

The Campus Honors Scholarship is a one-time award available to all high school graduates who rank in the top 15 percent of their class with an ACT composite score of 23 or higher.

BSU will present more than $2.3 million in academic, talent, and leadership scholarships this year. The awards are made possible through donations to the BSU Foundation, the Alumni Association, and other organizations that specify funds for such causes.

Among the recipients are freshmen from Arco: Michael Dwire, English education; Cottonwood: Lyndsey Peterson, pre-occupational therapy; Lamberton: Skyler Vold, environmental science; and Marshall: Danielle Crowell, science.

Seven Minnesota State Colleges and Universities named as finalists for Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence

Seven Minnesota State Colleges and Universities are among 120 community colleges nationwide named as finalists for the Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence.

They are: Alexandria Technical and Community College, Central Lakes College, Minnesota State Community and Technical College, Minnesota West Community and Technical College, Northland Community and Technical College, Northeast Higher Education District's Rainy River Community College and Ridgewater College.

The finalists were named after a comprehensive review of publicly available data that demonstrated strong outcomes in three areas of student success: persistence, completion and transfer; consistent improvement in outcomes over time; and equity in outcomes for students of all racial, ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds.

The 120 colleges now can compete for the $1 million prize that will be awarded in March 2013.

"This is a great honor for these colleges, and I am confident that they will be strong competitors for the prize," said MnSCU Chancellor Steven Rosenstone. "The success of these colleges reflects our commitment to ensure access to an extraordinary education for all Minnesotans."

A full list of the 120 community colleges - about 10 percent of the nation's community colleges is available at The first Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence was awarded in December 2011 by the Aspen Institute, a nonprofit dedicated to fostering enlightened leadership and open-minded dialogue.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web