Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Championship focus

Winners of three of six flights decided by sudden-death playoff at MGC Club Championships Sunday; Chad Michelson wins fourth straight title

August 6, 2012
By Travis Andries ( , Marshall Independent

MARSHALL - Playoffs were the trend during the Marshall Golf Club Championships over the weekend. Of the six flights, three were decided by sudden-death playoffs.

Marcia Scott out-dueled Mary Jo Hmielewski to claim the Ladies Championship. Matt Terfehr and Jeremy Gossen needed two extra holes before Terfehr emerged as the winner of the Men's First Flight. Lastly, Chad Michelson earned the MGC title in the Championship Flight after defeating Troy Deutz in a playoff.

Michelson's win marks his fourth consecutive club championship and his sixth in the last ten years. The title was made possible by Michelson following a Day 1 76 with a 73 on Sunday. He and Deutz flipped scores on the weekend, but Deutz needed to sink a difficult 15-foot putt on the last hole to force the playoff. The playoff itself took just one hole, as Michelson easily birdied the par-5 first hole, while Deutz was unable to make his own birdie putt.

Article Photos

Photo by Travis Andries
Tim Stegner, left, and Chad Michelson watch Michelson’s second shot on the par-5 fifth hole during the second round of the Marshall Golf Club Championships on Sunday. Michelson earned his fourth consecutive club championship and sixth title overall after defeating Troy Deutz in a one-hole playoff.

"I didn't hit my driver very well today," Deutz said.

By the time the final group made the turn on Sunday, Deutz had seen his three-stroke lead from Saturday turn into a one-stroke deficit. He rallied over the back nine and benefitted from Michelson's inconsistent play in order to force the playoff.

"I played the back 4 over," Michelson said. "I let (Deutz) back in it. I was being too cute with my wedges on the back."

Michelson credited his improved play on Sunday to a lack of mental mistakes. He had multiple double bogeys on Saturday, which put him in a tie for second after day one.

Tom Homan and Tony Yang both shot 2-over 73s on Sunday to finish third and fourth, respectively, while Charlie Kost finished in fifth place after starting the day tied for second with Michelson.

In the Ladies Championship, Marcia Scott overcame a one-shot deficit from Day 1 to place her in a playoff with Mary Jo Hmielewski. Scott and Hmielewski both carded 36-hole totals of 184, but Scott recovered from a bunker on their first playoff hole to snatch the championship from Hmielewski. The title is Scott's first.

Jeanette Prust finished third in the Ladies Flight and also earned the President's Cup for the lowest net total (136).

Jeremy Gossen captured the President's Cup for the men with a net score of 138, but was unable to win his flight. Matt Terfehr bested Gossen in a two-hole playoff for the Men's First Flight title. Both Terfehr and Gossen carded a 158 after 36-holes. Mike Ellingson finished third in the flight with a 160.

John Seeman held on to his Day 1 lead in the Men's Second Flight, winning by one stroke with a 173. Duke Pogatchnik finished second in the flight with a 174. Scott Baker finished third, two strokes behind Pogatchnik.

Rick Homan's 85 on Sunday catapulted him into the lead in the Men's Third Flight. He finished with a 177. Tom Jackson finished in second, one shot behind Homan.

Dan Prust improved on his Day 1 lead to win the Men's Fourth Flight with a score of 186. Prust finished eight strokes ahead of second-place finisher Tyler Bowen.

Although there were no holes-in-one during the competition, Fred Almer did accomplish arguably the rarest feat in golf. Almer holed out from 174 yards for a double eagle on the par-5 11th hole on Sunday. The former Marshall High School boys' golf coach was unable to rally around the shot, however, as he finished down the leaderboard in the Men's Championship Flight with a 166.

Marshall Golf Club will remain busy it hosts the Farmer's Open today and the MGC Member/Guest tournament Friday and Saturday.

Results after 36 holes

Championship Flight

Chad Michelson 76-73-149, Troy Deutz 73-76-149, Tom Homan 77-73-150, Tony Yang 79-73-152, Charlie Kost 76-77-153, Tim Stegner 77-80-157, Mark Veglahn 78-79-157, Phil Skramstad 83-77-160, Tim Deutz 80-86-166, Fred Almer 86-80-166, Corey Skogrand 89-86-175, Eric Eben 87-92-179, Jason Kruger 96-84-180.

Ladies Flight

Marcia Scott 90-94-184, Mary Jo Hmielewski 89-95-184, Jeanette Prust 98-98-196, Staci Siers 101-96-197, Sharon Hennen 98-106-204, Norma Gile 107-106-213, Karen Vankeulen 113-113-226.

1st Flight

Matt Terfehr 81-77-158, Jeremy Gossen 83-75-158, Mike Ellingson 80-80-160, Doug Kunde 86-79-165, Ron Labat 83-83-166, Bruce Mitlyng 84-84-168, Mitch Noyes 86-83-169, John Claggett 80-90-170, Lee Webskowski 86-84-170, Dusty Koster 89-83-172, Jason Peterson 90-82-172, Darrell Wiener 83-90-173, Steve Huettl 86-87-173, John Kemp 88-85-173, Shane Plante 86-88-174, Erik Porter 87-87-174, Jason Clarin 88-91-179, Dan Vanhauwaert 91-90-181, Tom Gruhot 89-93-182, Dan Fosvick 94-91-185, Bill Archbold 101-90-191.

2nd Flight

John Seeman 84-89-173, Duke Pogatchnik 87-87-174, Scott Baker 88-88-176, Al Antony 89-88-177, Kelly Nichols 89-88-177, Mark Nelson 89-88-177, John Bot 90-87-177, Dave Schroeder 90-90-180, Steven Schuler 89-94-183, Scott Voss 93-90-183, Jay Cattoor 97-87-184, Pat Hennen 94-91-185, Chris Versaevel 96-91-187, Mike Buysse 95-94-189, Matt Weller 101-91-192, Jason Bednarek 96-98-194, Kanoa Baynard 102-97-199.

3rd Flight

Rick Homan 92-85-177, Tom Jackson 88-90-178, Adam Steffes 87-94-181, Nate Tykwinski 91-90-181, Kevin Kurth 94-88-182, Bill Larson 89-94-183, Wade Boerboom 89-97-186, Chuck Hess 93-96-189, Roger Evert 91-98-189. Wes Blomme 88-101-189, Kim Christensen 92-99-191, Chris Hmielewski 98-94-192, Jim Franson 99-95-194, Dick Labat 95-100-195, Terry Cinkle 99-99-198, Bill Houston 99-102-201, Marlin Winkelman 103-99-202, Wayne Hanson 103-99-202.

4th Flight

Dan Prust 94-92-186, Tyler Bowen 100-94-194, Tony Theisen 102-94-196, Mike Naber 104-97-201, Graham Falde 101-106-207, Ben Alcorn 104-105-209, Nick Schwarz 108-101-209, Gary Becker 105-113-218, Kim Wegner 109-112-221, Jerred Lee 107-118-225, Todd Siers 114-120-234, Ed Yerka 129-121-250.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web