Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

SMSU briefs for Sept. 12

September 12, 2012
Marshall Independent

Kack receives SMSU scholarship

Southwest Minnesota State University announces that Andr Kack, the son of Mary Ann and Emil Kack of Marshall, has been selected to receive a Deans' Award Scholarship for the 2012-2013 academic year. Recipients of this scholarship are recognized for their academic accomplishments and outstanding leadership abilities.

His planned major field of study is undeclared.

Five to be honored by Alumni Association

Five individuals in three categories will be honored by the Alumni Association during Homecoming festivities Oct. 5 and 6 at Southwest Minnesota State University.

This year's Homecoming theme is: "Mustangs for Life: Southwest Through the Ages."

Alumni Achievement Awards are presented to graduates in recognition of their professional success and the positive reflection made on the reputation of all SMSU graduates.

Alumni Achievement Award honorees include David Christensen, '75, senior vice president and chief financial officer, HickoryTech Corp., Mankato.; Clayton Schwerin, '77, retired, former owner, Baldwin Construction Co., Fort Collins, Colo.; and Debra Morgan, '79, district director, strategic initiatives and performance excellence, Alamo Colleges, Texas.

Honorary Lifetime Membership Awards are presented to individuals who are not a graduate of SMSU but give their time, talents and enthusiasm as if they were.

The 2012 recipient of the Honorary Lifetime Membership Award is Doug Anderson of Cottonwood, who recently retired after a 48-year career in the banking industry.

GOLD (Graduate of the Last Decade) Awards recognize recent graduates with exceptional achievement and significant contributions to the recipient's profession or community/society or university.

Janell (Powers) Kassel, '04, a partner at Family Eye and Contact Lens Center, Muscatine, Iowa, is the 2012 GOLD Award winner.

A luncheon honoring the four will be at noon Friday, Oct. 5, in the Conference Center Ballroom. For tickets call 507-537-6266.

For complete Homecoming information visit



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web