Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Dahms wins in SD 16

November 7, 2012
Marshall Independent

MARSHALL - Sen. Gary Dahms will return to St. Paul after defeating former legislator Ted Suss of Wabasso on Tuesday. Dahms had 54 percent of the vote to 46 percent for Suss with all but four precincts reporting.

Dahms, who just completed his first term in office, is the vice chairman of the Agriculture and Rural Economies Committee and also served on the Commerce and Consumer Protection and Environment and Natural Resources committees.

Suss has been the superintendent of Wabasso Schools for the last nine years and served in the Legislature in the mid-1970s.

In a battle of newcomers in Senate District 22, Bill Weber, a Republican from Luverne, was ahead of Alan Oberloh of Worthington by five percentage points late.

Weber ran for the Senate seat in 2006, losing by 16 percentage points to now-retired Jim Vickerman.

The SD22 seat was left vacant after the retirement of Republican Doug Magnus, who had served four terms in the House and one in the Senate.

In a race between two sitting senators, Lyle Koenen, of Clara City, had a 13 percentage point lead late Tuesday over Republican Joe Gimse, of Willmar, in Senate District 17.

Koenen, who served in the House from 2002-2012, won a special election in April over Gregg Kulberg and Leon Greenslit to finish out the term of veteran lawmaker Gary Kubly, who died of ALS in March.

This was Koenen's second Senate race - in 2000, he lost a close SD13 race to Charlie Berg.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web