Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Bayerkohler, Conyers win council seats in Marshall

November 7, 2012
Marshall Independent

MARSHALL - Two new members will be joining the Marshall City Council after Tuesday's elections. Candidate Glenn Bayerkohler won the race for the Marshall Ward 1 seat, and Ellayne Conyers won a close three-way race for a seat in Marshall Ward 3.

Unofficial vote totals from Tuesday night showed Bayerkohler receiving 1,006 votes, and Donald Edblom receiving 753 votes.

"I'm happy, and thankful for the results," Bayerkohler said Tuesday night. Bayerkohler added that he appreciated the opportunity to serve the people in his ward and was committed to doing his best for them. As a city council member, he said, "I will be someone who will ask questions. I won't be a rubber stamp."

Marshall Ward 3 had three candidates in the running, and a close race. Conyers won with 626 votes, and candidates Craig Schafer and Justin McKinney had 578 votes and 505 votes, respectively.

"I'm excited," Conyers said of the vote results. "I feel I would like to still be involved with the community and the growth of Marshall." Conyers said the city will be facing some big projects in the future, like the amateur sports center, which will represent an opportunity for growth.

She said she felt Marshall needed to keep moving forward on those projects to maintain its rate of growth.

A total of three Marshall council seats were up for election this year, as well as the office of Marshall Mayor. Marshall Ward 2 candidate Larry Doom ran unopposed and was re-elected with 1,965 votes.

Mayor Bob Byrnes also ran unopposed and was re-elected with 5,462 votes.

- Deb Gau



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web