Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Rabbits, Falcons get 4 players on All-SMC football team

November 13, 2012
Marshall Independent

The Southern Minnesota Conference released its list all-conference football players Monday, and Sleepy Eye St. Mary's paved the way with six All-SMC nods after going unbeaten through the regular season.

Springfield and New Ulm Cathedral each had five players earn All-SMC honors, as they tied for second in the conference standings with a 5-2 mark.

Wabasso and Red Rock Central each finished 4-3 in the Southern Minnesota Conference standings to finish in a tie for fourth place, and both of the teams had four all-conference honorees for the 2012 season.

For Red Rock Central, Jeff DeCock, Henry Rogotzke, Mitchell Schroepfer and Jordan Schroepfer were all on the all-conference list. Rogotzke was also named the conference's lineman of the year.

RRC also had two all-conference honorable mentions in Brady Bierl and Casey Engen, and Engen, Bierl, Austin Price and Tanner Pederson were all named to the Southern Minnesota Academic All-Conference team.

Wabasso's Blake Altermatt, Dalton Taylor, Tanner Rohlik and Matt Zeug got all-conference nods. The Rabbits also had two honorable mentions with Cole Brand and TJ Fulton, while Scott Jenniges, Altermatt and Neil Eichten made the SMC All-Academic team.

The conference's offensive player of the year was SESM's Jordan Anderson, the defensive player of the year was Springfield's Lance Briard, and the coach of the year was SESM's Brent Kucera.

2012 All-Southern Minnesota Football Conference

Sleepy Eye St. Mary's: Sean Mathiowetz, Jordan Anderson, Mitch Neid, Carter Krzmarzick, Andy Steffl, Lucas Heiderscheidt.

Springfield: Lance Braird, Jacob Menage, Christopher Kretsch, Trever Vanderwerf, Cody Graff.

New Ulm Cathedral: Adam Schnobrick, Jacob Stadick, Jeff Osborne, Jack Waibel, Russ Hoffmann.

Red Rock Central: Jeff DeCock, Henry Rogotzke, Mitchell Schroepfer, Jordan Schroepfer.

Wabasso: Blake Altermatt, Dalton Taylor, Tanner Rohlik, Matt Zeug.

Cedar Mountain/Comfrey: Zac Kerkhoff, Brady Kerkhoff, Andrew Richter.

Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart: Kyle Kubesh, Chris Schmidt.

Sleepy Eye: Joake Trebesch, John Mangen.

2012 All-Southern Minnesota Football Conference Honorable Mention

David Surprenant (SESM), Nate Lax (SESM), Nick Runck (Springfield), Zach Wells (Springfield), Nic Larson (NUC), Brandon Beranek (NUC), Brady Bierl (RRC), Casey Engen (RRC), Cole Brand (Wabasso), TJ Fulton (Wabasso), Collin Nestande (CMC), Josh Green (CMC), Tate Lange (BLHS), Ryan Coulter (BLHS), Tucker Schuster (SE), Tyler Netzke (SE).

Lineman of the Year: Henry Rogotzke (RRC).

Defensive Player of the Year: Lance Briard (Springfield)

Offensive Player of the Year: Jordan Anderson (SESM)

Coach of the Year: Brent Kucera (SESM)

Southern Minnesota Football Academic All-Conference

Scott Jenniges (Wabasso), Blake Altermatt (Wabasso), Neil Eichten (Wabasso), Lance Briard (Springfield), Christian Erickson (Springfield), Robert Klabunde (Springfield), Karson Herfurth (Springfield), Casey Engen (RRC), Brady Bierl (RRC), Austin Price (RRC), Tanner Pederson (RRC), Drew Peterson (CMC), Kyle Kubesh (BLHS), Sam Hirschboeck (SE), Matt Schroepfer (SE), John Mangen (SE).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web