Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Locals take their swings for a good cause at Pride in the Tiger Classic

More than 100 golfers gather at Marshall Golf Club to support Marshall public and parochial schoolsBy Travis Andries MARSHALL — After record turnout in 2012, the 17th annual Pride in the Tiger Foundation Golf Classic saw

July 16, 2013
Marshall Independent

MARSHALL - After record turnout in 2012, the 17th annual Pride in the Tiger Foundation Golf Classic saw a somewhat smaller field on Monday at Marshall Golf Club. Down 16 golfers, or four foursomes, the event, which has its proceeds go directly to the Pride in the Tiger Foundation in its effort to support the children of Marshall, still raised over $10,000.

"(We had) very good turnout," said Pride in the Tiger Foundation executive director Bill Swope. "We had the most we had ever had last year, with 120. One hundred and four this time, that's pretty good."

While Marshall school children are true victors of the event, the golf title was claimed by the foursome of Brian Pfeiffer, Bill Archbold, Matt Terfehr and David Hook. The group shot a 15-under-par 57 in the four-person scramble. In second place, and one stroke off the pace of the winners, was the team of Kevin Kurth, Atul Mishra, Jim Hey and Jason Kruger, who won the longest drive flag prize for the men.

Article Photos

Photo by Travis Andries
Members of Team Sanders, comprised Tom Sanders, Marv Hey, Jan Hey and Linda Sanders, watch a putt by Linda Sanders on the 18th hole during Monday’s Pride in the Tiger Foundation Golf Classic held at Marshall Golf Club.

Two teams tied for third place on the day, carding 13-under 59s. Chad and Sandy Wyffels and Jim and Kim Christianson composed one team, while Steve Elzenga, Brand Wendland, Jason Schutz and Brad Warren were the second foursome to shoot 59 on Monday.

Other flag prizes were also awarded. Kirsten Haukom took home two of them, winning both the women's longest putt and closest to the pin titles. Brydie Demuth had the longest drive of the women, while Deb Herrmann won the second closest to the pin award for the ladies.

Jason Mathei and Jarred Lee each went closest to the pin on holes No. 4 and No. 10 respectively. Erik Myrhe had the longest putt for the men.

Fact Box

Pride in the Tiger Results

1. Marshall Independent - Matt Terfehr, Brian Pfeiffer, Bill Archbold, David Hook 57; 2. Bladholm Construction - Kevin Kurth, Jim Hey, Jason Kruger, Atul Mishra 58; t3. Vikings Coca-Cola - Steve Elzenga, Brad Wendland, Jason Schutz, Brad Warren 59; t3. Borch's - Chad Wyffels, Sandy Wyffels, Kim Christianson, Jim Christianson; Schamber - Ben Schamber, Patrick Jennissen, Jeremiah Konz, Jason Romanowski 60; VanKeulen - Karen VanKeulen, Curt Kovash, Jim Tate, Pat Verkinderen 61; Verkinderen - Dave Verkinderen, Steve Verkinderen, Jay Ziemann, Dan Ziemann 61; US Bank - Krista Weiszhaar, Dusty Koster, Eric Myhre, Michael Engebretson 62; Marshall Radio - Ryan Rohlik, Heath Radke, Justin Thordson, Dean Rohlik 63; Remme - Bruce Remme, Brian Jones, Shawn Myers, Bob Jacobson 64; Pollock - Chace Pollock, Christina Pollock, John Pollock, Derek Rignell 64; US Bank - Jason Marthei, Graham Falde, Josh Kiley, Trevor Anderson 65; Big Stone Therapies - Nick Doering, Kirsten Haukom, Ethan Hernandez, Jacob Baker 65; Demuth - Austin Demuth, Brydie Demuth, Jason Sherman, Lisa Sherman 68; Extra Innings - Mike Sweetman, Kelli Koff, Mike Ovitt, Katie Ovitt 68; Hoffman & Brobst - Gary St. Aubin, Wendy St. Aubin, Dan Herrmann, Deb Herrmann 69; Knudson - Holly Knudson, Sara Larson, Steve Gardner 69; Hoffman & Brobst - Eric Eben, Tamara Bliss, Pat Louwagie, Barry Evenstad 69; Avera Medical Group - Ed Yerka, Jason Klein, John Kemp, Justin Hartman 70; SMSU Athletic Department - Chris Hmielewski, Mary Jo Hmielewski, Tim Steinbach, Christy Steinbach 71; Oeltjenbruns - Megan Oeltjenbruns, Jarred Lee, Seth Oeltjenbruns, Rick Johnson 71; Hoover - Jeff Hoover, Lisa Hoover, Kim Wegner, Kris Wegner 73; Sanders - Tom Sanders, Linda Sanders, Marv Hey, Jan Hey 75; ATS&R - David Maroney, Terry Stofferahn, Bruce Lamprecht, Klint Willert 76; Johnson Controls - Tom Hunstad, Brent Rice, Jim Zmeskal, Laura Schuster 76; Bremer Bank - Aaron Meester, Shelly Hawkinson, Robin Bednarek, Christy Bernachi 77.

Flag Prizes

Hole No. 2) Longest drive female - Brydie Demuth; No. 4) Closest to pin male - Jason Mathei; No. 6) Closest to pin female - Kirsten Haukom; No. 8) Longest drive male - Jason Kruger; No. 10) Closest to pin male - Jarred Lee; No. 12) Longest putt male - Erik Myhre; No. 16) Closest to pin female - Deb Herrmann; No. 17) Longest putt female - Kirsten Haukom.

Despite the slight decrease in attendance, Swope said that the event was undoubtedly a success. He credited the commitment of the community to supporting its teachers, students and children with helping the event maintain its effectiveness as the primary fundraiser for the Pride in the Tiger Foundation.

"We have great support, a lot of in-kind contributions. We have sponsors like US Bank, who has two teams here," Swope said. "We have a few platinum sponsors, which are $1,000 sponsors to put a team out there. ... Our local people have just been supportive. I think it's just kind of like motherhood and apple pie, people know it's going to kids. I think that's the benefit. People bought the raffle tickets and the mulligans, not that they necessarily needed it, but it's for kids."



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web